I Do Love a Good Mystery

As mentioned before, I greatly enjoy reading mysteries. It has something to do with the need to have my brain in constant motion in order to keep myself from becoming bored. Yes, I do read the occasional romance novel, but they’re almost always so hokey and unrealistic that slogging through a whole one is quite an effort. No, give me a good who-dun-it, and I’m happy. What has this to do with tea, you’re wondering? Well, on one of my orders to Plum Deluxe I decided to add their Blender’s Choice option to my cart. I paid just $5 for a tea blend of their choosing, thereby saving $2 and giving myself a surprise to which I could look forward.A4690D4B-A2BA-451A-8778-9D9EBB97A824

Was the surprise worth waiting for? Yes! I received Soul Warmer Herbal Tea. What a perfect tea to drink in the winter when your soul, as well as the rest of you, needs warming up. To the all organic rooibos base they add apple pieces, cocoa nibs, orange peel, calendula, blue cornflowers, hazelnut and chestnut essences, and caramel extract. Is that not a lovely tea?
9BABE48A-B8BA-4C92-90FC-FC5DBAB4839A
The aroma that comes from the packet is enticing. You know immediately that you’re in for a treat. The resulting tea is sweet, especially with a teaspoon of honey added to it. It reminded me of something from the moment I took a sip. It took a while to decide just what though. I finally decided it was kettle corn. I love kettle corn! I try to buy a bag, or two, every year when we go to Gatlinburg. Now I don’t have to wait a whole year between bags of popcorn, I can just indulge in a cup of this tea. Best of all, it’s caffeine free, so I can indulge both day and night. What a win-win that is!

Am I reading a good mystery right now? The answer to that question is also, yes! I’m reading Death of an Honest Man by M. C. Beaton. The main character in this series is Hamish Macbeth, and he always has a couple of murders, usually connected to one another, to solve. The location is one that I’d love to visit one day, the Scottish Highlands. If I ever got to go I’d probably run into relatives there, or at least somewhere in Scotland. Drinking this tea while reading my mystery book has been a great way to spend the weekend. Oh, yes, one more thing. I’m doing all of this while sitting at the beach. Can you say, “Ahhhhhh…”

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 122 other subscribers