It’s my turn!!! The day I’ve been waiting for (and fretting over) has finally arrived. Ever since I ran across this pattern on Jill Finley’s website last year I have wanted to make it. Did I get a round to it? No, of course not. Soooooo, when I discovered that there was going to be a blog hop and the main attraction was going to be this pillow I decided I’d better sign up or the project would be one more thing on my wanna-do-one-of-these-days list. Yes, it is a very, very long list.

Finding time to make the project now proved to be just as difficult as it has been all year, but remembering the words of my high school band director, Mr. Lambert, I decided that results, not excuses, were what I needed to strive for. Of course, I had to make the project my own and change some things. I know you’re not surprised. Before I tell you what I changed though I’ll show you the whole project. Cute, huh!

Now, to explain the changes and why, just in case you’re interested. The main thing I changed was the construction method of the project. Rather than doing the piecing I turned the project into an appliqué one. Why? Well, first because all this time that’s what I thought it was to begin with. No, I had not looked at the actual instructions until it was time to start working on the project. Secondly, and more importantly, because I greatly dislike sewing on a drawn line and flipping back corners. Yes, I dislike it enough to prefer the “A” word technique. I used the measurements of the rectangles given for the houses and drafted my appliqué patterns accordingly…with one exception. You see, I prefer smaller projects and really didn’t need such a large pillow. You may not have been able to tell it from the photo, but I shrank the houses so that they’re only 2-1/4” wide and their height is half of the measurements given for those rectangles in the original pattern. Of course, I then had to draw my own rooftops and trees, but that wasn’t too difficult, even for someone like me who has trouble drawing stick figures that are recognizable.

I decided that instead of having a black background I would use a lovely night sky fabric that we have on hand and Michael Miller’s Fairy Frost for the snow covered ground. I mean after all, if there’s that much snow on the rooftops there must be snow on the ground. Right? Then I decided I didn’t want dark windows but lighted ones, hence the golden glow emanating from two of the houses. I also thought it might be kind of interesting to look into one of those houses and see the occupants’ tree all decorated up. Last, but not least, I made one of the houses yellow because I’ve always wanted to paint our house yellow. I doubt that it will ever happen though. It used to be a medium shade of green at one time many, many years ago. We found evidence of that on the part that was built in the 1850s.

My project ended up measuring about 11”x16” (I didn’t measure it after it was put together) and will be a wallhanging instead of a pillow. Then again, I might get creative and decide to use it as the center, or one section somewhere, in a larger wallhanging and add some of my favorite wintery things in other blocks. Talk about getting the creative juices flowing!!! I think I’ll live with it as is for the time being and just ruminate over it a while. As they say, you can’t rush greatness…

Many thanks to Miss Jill for so generously giving us her pattern. I love her work and plan on making several projects from her latest book…one of these days. Thanks too to Mdm. Samm for all she does to promote and encourage our creativity and to Miss Pauline for cheering us on and answering question after question for this technically challenged person. Be sure to visit each and every one of the blogs listed below because without a doubt you’ll find even more inspiration. That’s what it’s all about; inspiring and challenging each other to explore areas that are interesting but maybe a little scary were it not for the reassurance of like-minded individuals, of which there are thankfully many.

Words and Stitches
Trying to Blog
Peanut’s Patchwork
Moosestash Quilting
A Loose Thread
stitch, stitch, stitch
In Stitches and Seams
Hooked on Quilting – Enjoy!
A Reformed Heath’n
As Sweet as Peaches
Geema’s Wonderings

48 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Martina
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 01:09:15

    Love your winter Holiday Lane version. Very cute!

    Reply

  2. Theresa
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 01:18:30

    What lovely fabrics – the one for the sky is absolutely perfect. Your mini pillow turned out beautifully.

    Reply

  3. Nati
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 01:41:59

    Very cute pillow, thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  4. charlotte
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 04:06:42

    Well I love yellow and so I love your yellow house too!

    Reply

  5. Dana
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 05:08:24

    Cute design and inspiration for this time of year! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  6. Sandy D
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 06:18:46

    Great pillow .I like your ideas Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  7. Kate
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 06:41:46

    I like what you’ve done and especially the lighted windows. Your version is quite lovely.

    Reply

  8. mdm samm
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 06:59:11

    ohhh my your pillow is sooooo little how did you make it that small….what we can see is absolutely lovely…

    Reply

  9. Mary Emmens
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 07:16:29

    This i lovely well done

    Reply

  10. gail
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 07:17:11

    Very nice! I love the christmas tree showing through someone’s front window!

    Reply

  11. calicojoan@aol.com
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 07:17:17

    I am a fusible applique junkie so that’s right up my alley!! Beautiful pillow!

    Reply

  12. Linda Winters
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 07:21:54

    How pretty! You did a great job on it. Beautiful!

    Reply

  13. Agnes B. Bullock
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 07:31:58

    So beautiful!

    Reply

  14. rosa
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 07:35:34

    soo nice.Great job!

    Reply

  15. buntyw
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 08:04:59

    A great cushion – I love the colours, especially the yellow!
    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  16. Carol
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 08:13:51

    I love the tall, thing houses..very nice! Your version of the pillow is lovely. :O)

    Reply

  17. dawn
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 08:20:43

    Wonderful Holiday Lane interpretation. Your did a great job with reducing the size and I especially like the Christmas tree in the window!

    Reply

  18. Marjorie A.Henwood
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 08:36:49

    Great color in your pillow….love it!

    Reply

  19. Brenda Hulsey
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 08:42:11

    There are two yellow houses here where I live and that’s very unusal since we are rural country people. But I do like them! Your little village is really so nice. I like the warm glow from the windows and the snow covered ground is perfect! The sky is great…I just love the whole thing. And the size is just right for a small wall hanging or table runner but then who would want to cover that little scene up? Beautiful!
    hulseybg at gmail dot com

    Reply

  20. Sunshine Girl
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 08:47:30

    Oooh its lovely – I resized mine down to that size too. Love the colours you have used.

    Reply

  21. Melinda Lawrence
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 09:14:23

    How cute! I put a tree in one of my windows as well, but you’ll have to wait until tomorrow to see! I love how little you made it!

    Reply

  22. Beth Strand
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 09:14:31

    Lovely! I love that you always wanted a yellow house…we just painted mine yellow the summer before last!

    Reply

  23. Carolyn
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 09:20:44

    Very cute, I like you version very much!

    Reply

  24. Mary W
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 09:21:04

    Great job on your pillow.

    Reply

  25. Jane
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 09:53:17

    I like the way you shrank everything. You ended up with a very cute pillow. Thnak you for sharing.

    Reply

  26. jbawsew
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 10:22:33

    Very pretty village! Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

  27. Marlene
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 10:32:19

    I love your sky fabric and your lighted windows and you tree and…I think I just love it all! 🙂 blessings, marlene

    Reply

  28. Beth
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 10:43:50

    You are very creative. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

  29. patty d
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 11:28:56

    very nice – the snow really makes the wall hanging unique.

    Reply

  30. JudyCnNC
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 13:17:10

    Wonderful work on your pillow and I love that you made it your very own. Judy C

    Reply

  31. Jenelle Boxberger
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 13:23:25

    Giving this project your won touch looks good. I like the snow on the roofs. Thanks for being in the hop

    Reply

  32. Britt-Inger Jönsson
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 14:48:39

    Your pillow is very lovely, I love it. Thanks for sharing

    Reply

  33. Mary
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 16:11:48

    Very cute and you did a lovely job on it.

    Reply

  34. Pauline
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 17:32:58

    Hi Cindy, your wall hanging is darling…I love the size. That is what I want to do on my next one…shrink the houses to be about 2″ wide. Yes oh yes it is cute. I love the tree in the window and the snow on the sill. Great job Cindy!! Thank you for sharing your time and inspiration with us today. Happy stitching, Pauline

    Reply

  35. Annette Schultz
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 17:58:27

    I love that patterns are really just guid lines to what we could do and we have free liecne to change it up to what we would love to do. I really like what you have done and the smaller size would work for a whole village. thanks sew much for sharing with us today
    in stitches

    Reply

  36. LJ
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 19:03:53

    Great project. I think it’s wonderful to take something and make it your own. I like the lighted windows and the Christmas tree in the window. I like your changes and your pillow. Thanks.

    Reply

  37. ROSEMARY
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 19:38:09

    Lovely! great colors! very festive. Love the dark blue sky!
    The houses look wonderful with the light windows and the tree is marvelous
    Thank you for sharing your creativity

    Reply

  38. selina
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 19:41:10

    Love your applique work. The little tree in the window is wonderful.

    Reply

  39. Helen
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 20:10:14

    Very Nice! Your End result is Great. Thanks For Sharing.

    Reply

  40. usairdoll
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 23:31:28

    What a lovely wallhanging! I started the hop a few days behind and I didn’t realize the pattern was pieced and not appliqued. Thanks for the heads up, hehe. I will do mine, next year that is, using applique method.

    Thank you for an awesome giveaway and a chance to win.

    usairdoll(at)gmail(dot)com

    Reply

  41. Scrapbook-ChickADoodle
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 08:56:06

    Very sweet! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  42. shirley tener
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 09:54:42

    What lovely fabrics – the one for the sky is absolutely perfect. Your mini pillow turned out beautifully.

    Reply

  43. Woolie
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 09:56:51

    wonderful pillow and way to go on being flexible! I hand stitched mine down also.

    Reply

  44. MoeWest
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 10:56:53

    Your wall hanging is very cute! I like the fabrics that you chose.

    Reply

  45. http://livinglife-martha.blogspot.com
    Dec 01, 2012 @ 05:24:43

    Love your version…the fabrics are perfect. Thanks for sharing with us!

    Reply

  46. Pauline
    Dec 01, 2012 @ 06:44:16

    What al lovely Holiday Lane! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  47. Denise :)
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 08:42:46

    I’m so glad you participated — you did a marvelous job; I really like the look! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 92 other followers

