More Freebies!

It’s Friday again! Where on earth did the week go!? I had to think real hard this morning to figure out what day it was. If I hadn’t gone to the guild meeting in Huntsville last night, I’m sure it would have been much harder to figure out.

The guild had their bi-annual auction last night, and what an event that was. There was “stuff” very neatly arranged all over the room. I was a good girl and only bid on a couple of things. One of which I won! It was a case of sitting there with it staring me in the face, while I tried to resist temptation, knowing full well that if I didn’t at least try to win it I would regret it forever and ever. So just before the auction for that item was closed I jumped up, added a couple of dollars to the last bid, and won my paint bucket of goodies. “What on earth could it be?” I hear you asking yourself. Well, I will save it for Sunday and try to get a show-n-tell post done on that day. Although, we have in mind to do some rearranging in the shop so I might not get to it. I’ll be sure to show you eventually though. Hopefully, you’ll be able to see why I couldn’t help myself when I show you what it was I won. Alas, I wasn’t equally quick on the other item which was a lot of teapot fabric, a Tea Time magazine, and a tea cozy pattern with fabric. Those were the items I really wanted. There was also a puzzle in the lot that was very nice but not the apple of my eye so to speak. I was most interested in the fabric…like I need more.

Okay…it’s Friday and I’ve found some more freebies for you. Before I mention the new freebies I want to make sure that you’ve gotten all the parts to the free mystery quilt on the AQS blog that I told you about during our shop hop. The sixth and final segment has been given so be sure to snag it while you can. The links will only be active through December 15, 2012. It’s mid-October now so you only have a couple of months in which to save or print out the instructions for this quilt.

Speaking of AQS, I got a note that they now have a new Learning Center that you’re going to want to check out. They will add new offerings as time goes on so be sure to bookmark it and check back often. As of right now they have tips, techniques, patterns, and videos. I’ve not had time yet, but I’m going to have to watch to see how you do a blanket stitch on a longarm machine. I don’t have a longarm, but curiosity is getting the best of me. Oh, look! They’re giving away an APQS longarm FREE of charge! All you have to do is just click on the “Enter Today” button at the top of the page and answer a few simple questions. If I win, then I’ll definitely need to know how to blanket stitch with a longarm. I’m so glad I took the time to read that e-mail and check out this site.

Another site I ran across, thanks again to Ann, was a blog by Charise. I added her button on the right side there for her Vintage Block Quilt Along (VBQA) earlier in the week so you might have already visited her site. If not, the VBQA just started this month and will go for one full year. I love all things vintage so I’m very excited to see what all the blocks are going to be. Of course, me being me, I have to change things up a bit. The first block for example will not be made with curves, at least not by me. I’m going to sew a square to a rectangle to get the top and bottom sections and then cut a rectangle for the middle and appliqué a leaf on the diagonal so the points of that leaf touch the corner of the squares. It’s called simplifying on account of I’m lazy. To me it’s easier to do a little bit of math than to pin and stitch those curves. At a distance I bet no one will ever guess that I didn’t follow the directions. All I have to do is decide which method of appliqué I want to use. That alone will take longer than actually constructing the block.

The reason I ended up at Charise’s blog wasn’t because of the VBQA. No, no, no…it was because she had been involved with an intense paper-piecing blog hop back in February. The link to those paper-piecing blocks was what Ann sent me originally. To find that freebie, better known as Sew Out Loud Quilt Along, go to Shape Moth’s blog. The theme of the blocks was sewing articles and the designers of those blocks did an awesome job. Once again, I looked at several of them and thought that were I ever to actually do the blocks I could convert the designs into appliqué with little or no trouble. Thinking, thinking, thinking…it seems that I’m always thinking.

Last, but not least, today was Fat Quarter Friday. Every Friday you get a FREE pre-cut fat quarter of your choice for every four pre-cut fat quarters you buy. If you missed out today there’s always next week – Good Lord willin’ and the creek don’t rise that is.

Enjoy!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. back pain cushion
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 22:41:56

    Attractive component of content. I simply stumbled
    upon your site and in accession capital to claim that I
    acquire in fact loved account your blog posts.
    Any way I’ll be subscribing for your augment and even I success you access persistently fast.

    Reply

  2. http://www.arc.ritsumei.ac.jp/
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 23:00:59

    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but
    your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on. Many thanks

    Reply

  3. http://Extremaduradigital.org
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 14:36:54

    My relatives always say that I am killing my time here at web,
    however I know I am getting know-how daily by reading thes fastidious posts.

    Reply

  4. Rochester Business Services
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 10:30:20

    I seldom create responses, however after looking at a few
    of the comments on this page More Freebies! | Hooked on Quilting.
    I actually do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind.
    Is it just me or does it look as if like some of the comments
    come across like they are written by brain dead visitors? :
    -P And, if you are posting at additional social sites,
    I would like to keep up with you. Could you make a list of the
    complete urls of all your social community sites like your Facebook
    page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 92 other followers

