Lookie, Lookie, Lookie!!!

It came…it came!!! Look what came in the mail the other day. My first doll quilt from the Doll Quilt Swap has arrived, and I LOVE it! I wanted to share it with you sooner but it’s been one of those weeks. My little quilt, made for me by Miki, came all the way from Washington state. I asked her for yellow, purple, and green and that’s exactly what she sent. It measures 12″x16″. Now all I have to do is figure out where I want to hang it so I can enjoy it on a daily basis.

Here’s a closer look at the blocks. I’m not a great photographer and while I thought I had good lighting when taking the photo realized when editing it that I didn’t. You just need to come by the shop and look at it for yourself.

What did I send to Miki? I sent her a blue, yellow, and green quilt that came from a past issue of Quilt magazine. I followed the directions so the quilt she received measured approx. 18″x 23″. I’d thought about making one for myself because I like the design and the colors. If I do that though I think I’ll make my squares a little smaller.

I renamed the quilt from Trip Around the World to Trip Across the Country because it had such a long way to travel. I quilted it like the photo in the magazine as well as on a vintage quilt that I have in my collection. My vintage quilt has quilting lines going across one diagonal. Some of the lines go in one direction and other lines go in the other direction. I’m thinking there could have been two quilters and have wondered whether or not one of them was right-handed while the other was left-handed. There’s no label on the back unfortunately. The little quilt I sent Miki does have a label so she and anyone else who sees it will know the who, when, and why of the little quilt. Yes, I’m really going to have to work on my photography skills.

After I finished quilting the top I decided to put a line of quilting across two of the “squares”. One is in the upper left-hand corner, that’s where Miki lives, and the other is in the lower right-hand corner, that’s where I live.

It was so much fun working on this little quilt, even more fun was the receiving of a little quilt made just for me by a complete stranger whom I’ve gotten to know a little. Turns out, she used to live in Virginia which is where I grew up! I’m always amazed at how small our world really is.

If you want to get in on the fun you still can. Just click on the link above and send Barbara a note asking to be added to the group. It’s an international group! One of these days I might get a quilt from Germany or Australia. How awesome will that be?! You can even find some cute FREE doll quilt patterns at Country Lane Quilts to get you started. It can’t get much easier than that!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Janice Harwell
    May 10, 2012 @ 21:35:41

    Oh, they are both beautiful. What fun! They will always be a treasure. You both did a great job. I’m proud of you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 91 other followers

