Been Gone Too Long!

I bet you thought I’d flown off the face of the earth again since it’s been forever and a day since I last visited with you here. Lots of things have gone on since I last posted that’s for sure. The biggest of those things were the two week trip to Albuquerque, NM for Christmas and two Stitchin’ Camps, one in January and the other in February. So as you can see life has been quite a whirlwind of activity here. Finally, it looks like I have a little break so I thought I’d take a moment to do some catching up.

We had a nice time visiting Albuquerque again for the first time in about 15 years since we moved from there. I never thought I’d say it, but I found that there were things there that I actually missed in addition to the food. Maybe it was the memories of a simpler time, or the years that Rick and I had together alone to come and go as we pleased before the children came along. Then there were the friends that we made there. We were able to visit with a few of them and found that picking up where we left off in 1995 was seamless. It was like we’d never left. That’s a sign of true friendship I think.

Then there was the land that we discussed buying years ago in Angle Fire, NM. It was still untouched, and the calling to buy and build a little cabin on that knoll overlooking a big valley was still great. There was a goodly amount of snow there which just added to the romantic feel and desire to get away from it all, curl up with a good book and a cup of hot tea under a warm quilt by a roaring fire. There was supposed to be a quilt shop in Angel Fire, but we didn’t find it. Mind you, Rick said we were on vacation which meant from everything, including quilt shops. So, I didn’t visit not one shop on the whole two week trip. The thought that if we did decide to move back I’d have a shop to enjoy and support just added to the pull. Ah, dreamin’…I seem to do a lot of that lately.

OK, back to real life. In case you’ve not noticed the new tabs at the top of the blog allow me to draw your attention to the M&M Club tab as that one has to do with Miss Martha. It’s been a long time since she has offered her Christmas Club projects. This year she wanted to do something along those lines without being confined to doing only projects that pertain to Christmas. In other words, she wanted to broaden her horizons just a bit and offer you projects that would brighten your home for more than just one holiday or season. So far she’s picked a nice variety of projects that will not only bring some color and fun into your home but will also give you the opportunity of making something to give to your favorite folks without spending a lot of time or money to do so. When you see a project you like let her know as soon as possible so she can make sure you will have a kit. We’re not necessarily making up dozens of these due to space limitations so it’s first come, first served.

Also, be sure to visit the Calendar of Events page often. There are some instances, like today, where I will add an event which may or may not be quilt related but that is very time sensitive, so if you’re not on your toes you might miss something. Case in point: In January we had our annual Robert E. Lee birthday sale on Civil War prints. We’ve done this for the past four or five years now and with camp to prepare for I didn’t have time to do a full-fledged newsletter to alert everyone about the sale. Needless to say, no one seemed to know that there was a sale going on.

Last, but not least, there’s the Just In page where I try to give you an idea of the new things that have been added to the shop. If the item happens to be a book or magazine there’s a separate page where you can go and get a full review of the item. My goal is to keep this page as concise as possible, but you know me, it’s sometimes a task that’s too difficult for me to handle. I can rarely be accused of being a person of few words; especially if it’s about something I know and love.

Before this post turns into a novel, I’ll end by showing you one of the very small projects that I’ve just completed. It was one of those projects from a new pattern that just said, “Make me!” I followed the instructions as far as the cutting sizes were concerned but changed the finishing process to one that I find less time consuming. Instead of binding the mug rug I just did the envelope turn technique and topstitched around the edges. It’s not quite as neat as using binding but quicker and in my book, done is good. I’ve already gifted one of these to a very dear friend and have another in mind who is a fellow teaholic. When gifting these you add a spoon to the little pocket on the right side and either a packet of tea, coffee, or hot chocolate to the pocket on the left side. The recipient can then use the mug rug under their cup to protect the surface of their table or desk. It will look so much better than the 30+ year old round brown woven coaster I’ve been using. Much better!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Denise :)
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 06:41:17

    Oh there you are — I’m glad you’re back!! I like the little mug rug with the pockets — very, very cute and right up my alley! Are the directions in a magazine or book? Love all your new tabs, too!!! 🙂

    Reply

    • hookedonquilting
      Feb 21, 2012 @ 10:47:37

      Good morning,

      The mug rug is from a Teacher’s Pet pattern which we have in stock. Cost of the pattern is $5. These little things are addictive to make! I didn’t have enough width of one fabric that I wanted to use so I sewed another strip to what would be the bottom of the background fabric since it wouldn’t be seen. I pieced the back on a couple as well. In other words, they’re perfect for using up scraps! The fabric I used was for coffee so now I’m going to go looking for fabric with tea words on it. I bet I find some and I bet I find more than I need:-).

      These would be great for a special ladies day gift, but you’d need to start looking for spoons. I went to the Goodwill here in town and couldn’t find spoon one. I might just have to start going to yard sales again in order to find misfit spoons. Harney & Sons could supply the individually packaged tea bags. I’m getting visions of an event here…

      Take care,

      Cindy

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 92 other followers

