Opinion Please

I warned you this was coming. Remember? I said that I had enjoyed making the blocks for Farmer’s Wife so much that I was thinking about doing something similar with my all-time favorite ’30s prints. Since it was slow today, I mean really slow today, I took advantage of that and made these two blocks. I made two because I wasn’t sure just how I wanted my blocks to look, and since I do not have a color photo of my new project idea to go by I needed to see how the blocks would look done two different ways.

So without further ado I invite you to look at these two blocks and tell me which one you like best. I think this may be a moot point because I bet I know which one will be preferred, but I did tell you a while back that I wanted you to help me decide, and I do. Making decisions is not my forte.

Block A


Do you prefer Block A with the plain antique white background?

Block B

Or do you prefer Block B with the tiny circle in the background?

Maybe it would help to see them both together. I mean, they look great as individual blocks, but when you put them side by side you realize that the change of background fabric does change the look of the block.

Now, before you cast your vote let me give you a little exercise in visualization. This step is very important because we only have one block as a reference point and one block by itself doesn’t give us much to go on where the overall design is concerned. Feel free to close your eyes if you think it will help. Visualize a sampler quilt with possibly as many as 123 six inch blocks (those who did the Farmer’s Wife Sampler quilt with us should have no trouble doing this part). There will probably be small sashing strips between these blocks which will be set on point (my personal preferred method). If you like Block A then visualize all the blocks being done with the same background and maybe screamin’ yellow sashing (yes, I am leaning in that direction). How interesting do you think the quilt would be if all the blocks had the same background and different fabrics for all the other specific parts. Does that picture look calm, pleasing, or boring?

Next, visualize the same quilt, still with screamin’ yellow sashing, but with each block made from different printed backgrounds. Some may have a white base while others have a cream base. Others still might have a tan or tea dyed base. Some may have red designs, some blue, some brown, some black, some pink, some purple, etc. Because I don’t have that many different backgrounds in my collection I would have to reuse the prints more than once. Of course, as I went along I would be seeking out and purchasing new backgrounds so maybe I wouldn’t have to use each of them too many times. How does this quilt look to you? Is it pleasing, interesting, or too chaotic?

Since the quilt will probably only be made once, it’s very important that I get it right the first time because between you, me, and the fence post I have a confession to make. I think I have Quilter’s ADD. I noticed having problems several years ago. I seem to have trouble doing the same thing, i.e. the same block design, repeatedly. Using different fabrics to make the same block helps my QADD somewhat, but making the same block over and over again has never appealed to me. It seems that once I make it my brain says, “OK, you can do that now move on.” To keep my sanity I have to listen to my brain and do something different the next time. That’s probably why I have such an eclectic collection of “stuff” (there’s that word again!) and want to do more than I’ll ever have time or energy to do. I know I’m not alone though and there is comfort somewhat in knowing that others truly understand what one deals with on a daily basis.

So…will it be the plain Block A or the more daring Block B? I can’t wait to hear what you have to say!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. boilermom27
    Aug 06, 2011 @ 22:21:27

    I think I prefer the plain antique white. It sounds like there will be lots going on in this quilt and the eye needs a place to rest once in a while, lol. The 30’s prints have such wonderful little motifs on them and I think that could more easily be the focus if the background was plain.

    Reply

  2. Ronda Asta
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 16:21:50

    B definitely has more interest with the printed background. Have fun.

    Reply

  3. Denise :)
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 22:58:24

    I thought I’d prefer the plain antique white until I saw them side-by-side. Block B is more eye catching. If it was mine, I’d go with B. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Trish
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 22:15:53

    I vote for A … having the solid fabric puts more emphasis on the other prints. With B, I saw distracted by the print.

    Reply

  5. Anonymous
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 12:59:21

    I vote for Block A

    Reply

  6. Ellen
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 22:29:08

    I like the one with the white background better than the busy background. I think it gives more contrast & will show off all your hard work better.

    Reply

  7. Anonymous
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 13:25:07

    I guess I will be the tie-broker. I too thought I would choose Block A (since I’m not so daring) but after seeing both blocks online & in person, I have to bote BLOCK B.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 91 other followers

