Out of the Box!

Boxes, boxes, boxes…we’re always getting boxes. Some are very big and some are very small, but almost all have something wonderful and oftentimes mysterious inside. Why mysterious? Because I often order fabric, for example, months ahead of time. By the time it arrives I’ve forgotten what I ordered because in the interim I have ordered even more fabric that I won’t remember when it arrives. I can kind of go by the name of the shipper to get clues about what’s in the boxes, but more often than not I’m just guessing. We shop owners have to get our kicks somehow…
When the newest box arrived from Martingale Tuesday I thought I knew what was in it, but boy, was I wrong. Instead of getting the new books for April I got the new books for February. Surprise! It was a pleasant surprise though because all of the books are great, of course, and one has my all-time favorite little girl, Sunbonnet Sue as the subject.

Sweet Sue

A Year in the Life of Sunbonnet Sue by Christine Porter and Darra Williamson will give you 12 little quilts with which to entertain yourself as well as make for your favorite people. Each quilt represents a different month. Right now I’m leaning toward the one for August which has a beach theme. Yes, I’m longing for the beach. In this little quilt Sue even has her toenails painted. How different, and cute, is that?!

9 Great Projects!


We also received Scrap Quilts Go Country by Deanne Eisenman which is a follow up to her previous book Country Fresh. There are nine patterns in this selection that will help you use up those fat quarters and 2-1/2″ strips you’ve been collecting. These projects are of a generous lap quilt nature and there are a couple of table toppers as well. The addition of applique to the pieced tops adds so much appeal to many of the designs.

Great modern designs!


Then there is Modern Basics by Amy Ellis. The book is designed to be easy for new quilters, but the 14 designs are so unique that experienced quilters looking for more modern designs will flip for it as well. There are a couple of quilts in this book that look like modern art and are just begging to be made. One in particular is Tumbling Cubes. The quilting on this quilt is also part of what makes it unique and an eye-catcher. You definitely need to go to http://www.martingale-pub.com and view the gallery of projects in this book. If you’re looking for something different you’re going to want this book.

Pick a Flower - Any Flower!


While I was putting together the verbage for this posting the UPS man came. Guess what he brought…another box of books. Yep, we now have the new April releases from Martingale as well. The first one I looked at was Fast, Fusible Flower Quilts by Nancy Mahoney. It has some really lovely floral offerings, and choosing which one to begin with will not be an easy task. I was drawn to one near the end of the book called Pinwheel Flowers because it was made from ’30s prints but also because it used ric-rac all around the border. Too cute! Then there was Orange Marmalade. For some reason I am drawn to orange when the weather starts warming up. I think it’s because I often bought those orange sherbet push-ups from the ice cream man. I love those things! This quilt definitely got my attention and will be marked as a one to do in the future.

18 Great Quilts!


From having done Farmer’s Wife for a year now I have lots of scraps. The new All-Time Favorite Scrap Quilts from That Patchwork Place book will definitely come in handy when I start sorting through them in a month or two. There are 18 quits in this book and I love every one of them. The plus about this book is it gives you designs from several different quilters including Kim Diehl, Pat Speth, Mimi Dietrich (from an out of print book), and Evelyn Sloppy to name just a few. Instead of getting a book with just one person’s style you have a book with several different styles which makes it all the more useful.

Then I came to the last book and I looked through it with mixed emotions. I knew it was on the way, and I also knew that the author, Judy Hopkins, had passed away on March 9 at the age of 69. Her contributions to the world of quilting will be a lasting legacy to a very talented woman. She will be greatly missed by those who knew her well and even by those of us who did not know her directly but only through her work.

A Definite Must Have Book


The Big Book of Patchwork contains 50 “fabulous” traditional style quilts that were gathered from many makers. There are projects of every size represented from table runners to full-sized bed quilts. The instructions are not in-depth, but there are enough easy quilts with which a beginner could start and then work their way up to the more challenging ones, which won’t seem challenging at all by the time they get there. You definitely need this book in your library.

Super Summer Quilt!

I did get one new pattern this week that I want to mention and that’s because 1) it’s a great quilt, and 2) no other quilt shop has it! The Summer Fun Row Quilt pattern is from a local designer, Hailstorm Creek Press, and is soooooo cute. We have a sample of the quilt made up and it is adorable. The appliques on the pattern can even be changed as there are alternatives given. You will have so much fun making this quilt with all those bright colors that you just couldn’t live without but hadn’t a clue what to do with.

OK, it’s time for me to get back to my other job…Farmer’s Wife. I have the fabrics chosen and know what I need to do to get the seventh of ten blocks pieced. Then there will be scanning the block, cutting the kits, writing the instructions, and packing the kits. We’re very close to the end though and we’re getting very excited about putting our 111 blocks together.

Oh yes, our kittens are growing and have the fattest little tummies. I’ll try to get a photo of them soon to share with you. It’s amazing just how big they’ve gotten in less than two weeks. Belle’s leg is getting better and she has been a very good mother. Victoria is in seventh-heaven of course and all’s right with the world when there are kittens around.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bread maker Review
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 01:48:02

    Very good blog! I truly love how its easy to read.
    I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has been created.

    I have subscribed to your RSS feed which should do!
    Have a nice day and plz excuse my bad english!

    Reply

    • hookedonquilting
      Apr 19, 2013 @ 12:24:17

      Thanks so much! I’m glad you found us and enjoyed the post. Hopefully, the RSS feed will keep you up to date when new posts are available. I’m afraid I don’t post as often as I’d like though. There may also be a “Follow this Blog” option where you can type in your e-mail address to be notified. It was at the very bottom of the blog at one time but since I’ve subscribed to follow my own blog, in order to make sure it’s out there, I don’t see that option any longer. Feel free to e-mail me any time though if you’ve not received anything via the RSS feed.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 92 other followers

