All I Can Say is…WOW!!!

I finally got around to opening the new box of books from Martingale. While there were only two new titles in the box all I could say after looking at them was, “WOW!!!!” I’m not sure which book to tell you about first because they’re both just great…in my humble opinion of course.

Something for everyone!

Let’s start with the larger of the two. That would be 501 Quilting Motifs from the editors of one of my favorite magazines, Quiltmaker. This book is spiral bound so it will lay flat, has a hardcover, and 208 pages of designs for both hand and machine quilting. If you can’t find something in here to use on your next quilt you have a problem that I’m not sure anyone can help you with. I don’t mean to be ugly now, but this book has something for just about every quilt you’d ever want to quilt.

The book is divided up into sections to make it easier to find what you’re looking for. These sections include Children/Teens; Feathers; Flowers; Foods; Geometric Shapes; Hearts; Seasonal/Holiday; Vines & Leaves. Diagrams include measurements so you’ll know if the design you pick will fit in the space for which you need it. If the size isn’t quite right, but the design is perfect, you can enlarge or reduce it on a copier. You are given permission to do this but not to copy and share the designs with someone else who might like what they see. They’ll just have to buy their own book and do their own copying. They shouldn’t complain, especially when you tell them that the designs cost them less than 5 cents each. How’s that for being frugal!

50 Gorgeous Blocks x 5

The next book is just as desirable as the first, especially if you enjoy applique. Inspired by Tradition by Kay Mackenzie contains 50 designs in five sizes each. The book comes with a CD making it a breeze to print off the size block you need. Just be sure to check your settings so the designs are not reduced to fit the paper size/margins.  It also has instuctions for different applique methods and tips from the author.  The gallery of ideas will set your mouth to waterin’…especially those of us who enjoy applique.

When I looked through this book I wanted to stop what I was working on for Farmer’s Wife and start pulling fabric to make some of these great blocks.  Of course, the pansy block jumped out at me because it’s one of my favorites.  Then there was the basket block and the holly block and…and…and…See what I mean?!  The temptation was great, but clean livin’ (and fear of getting even further behind) prevailed.  I overcame the temptation and continued on with Farmer’s Wife so I could have the kits ready for next week.  After they’re done though it’s Katie bar the door!  I’m going to be doing some serious applique work.

Gorgeous up close!

Changing the subject completely now, those blooms that I identified as being from the Tulip Poplar weren’t.  Ginger e-mailed me and told me that they were actually from the Japanese Saucer Magnolia tree.  Doesn’t that sound exotic!

I heard Victoria tell Nathanael to set the ice cream out so I’m going to stop here.  I’ll review those new cookbooks next time.  Promise!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ronda Asta
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 05:01:09

    I would love to get the quilt mofit book if you can set one aside I’ll pick it up on sew day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 92 other followers

