Catchin’ Up!

It’s been a busy week with trying to catch up from being gone to NYC all of last week.  I’ve yet to catch up on my sleep but everything else is pretty much done.  The only thing left to do is to get you up to date on what has come into the shop over the last couple of weeks.  Get a nice cup of tea, or maybe some hot chocolate.  That’s what I have, Godiva hot chocolate to be exact, with marshmallows.  Mmmmm…now get comfortable because this might take a while.

Confederate Generals Panel

The only new fabric of note is our Confederate Generals panel by Windham. For those in your family who are history buffs this panel will make a wonderful wall hanging with a little help from you. We did receive a couple more Civil War era prints, but I won’t bother putting the photos here. You just need to drop in and check them out for yourself.
 
Last night I opened a box of new books from Martingale. There are four new offerings this month and you’re going to love most, if not all, of them. To view the contents of a particular book go to http://www.martingale-pub.com, find the book you’re interested in, click on the photo and it will take you to another page where you can scroll through a gallery that shows many of the projects inside. I love this new feature on their website! 

20 Quilt Projects!

The first book I looked through was Fast Favorites from McCall’s Quilting.  There are 20 projects in this book.  As I was looking at the photos of the quilts I came to one and thought it looked awfully familiar.  Then I looked to see who the designer was and it turned out to be our very own Elaine McGarry!  I called her up and asked if she knew her Pathway to Nowhere quilt had been published in a book.  The answer to my question was, “No, I didn’t know that!”  I love sharing nice surprises with special people.

A little bit of everything!

The second book I looked through was Simple Graces by Kim Diehl.  The projects in this book run the gamut.  In addition to quilts she has a super pillowcase, pillows, coasters, and a door hanger that I know Miss Martha is going to want to do once she gets her Critter Christmas finished becaue the hanger has Yo-Yos on it.  There’s a framed French Knot miniature, wool pincushion, glasses holder, a tea towel, etc.  You’re definitely going to enjoy this book.  I know I am!

14 Great Quilts!

Now for number three…More Loose Change by Claudia Plett and Le Ann Weaver gives you 14 quilt to make using nickels, dimes, and fat quarters.  While I drooled over the quilts throughout the book, the dedication caught my attention more than anything.  Who would have thought that I, along with my fellow local quilt shop owners, would be classified as an unsung hero.  I’ve always called myself an enabler.  I like their description much better.

Awesome Applique!

The fourth book to come out of the box was Flower Show by Lynn Ann Majidimehr.  When the cover says it contains stunning applique on a patchwork canvas, it’s not kidding.  I get the feeling that the photos of these quilts, wonderful as they are, do not do justice to the real things.  The one word that kept coming to my mind when I was looking at them was, “Awesome!!!”  If you like applique and you’re looking for something different to do with the technique this book is a must have for you.

Now we come to the new magazines.  I seem to have opened a can of worms when I agreed to carry some new magazines in the shop.  Apparently, I wasn’t listening too well to the sales lady when she called.  Imagine that…

If you have someone with which you wish to share your love of quilting Fons & Porter has a Learn to Quilt magazine that comes with an instructional DVD as well.  This would be especially great for those who do not have a quilt shop close by where they can take classes.  It would also work well for someone who has taken a break from quilting and would like to get back into it without much in the way of cost.  There are at least ten quilt designs in the magazine, all of which a beginner would enjoy doing.  Even experienced quilters could use the patterns for making quick and easy quilts when the occasion calls for one.  Use the simple designs as a background and you can jazz them up anyhow you please.

26 Projects!

Another interesting magazine that just came in is the premiere issue of Best Weekend Quilts from Quilters Newsletter.  It contains 26 easy projects that cover just about any reason you’d ever need to make a quilt – from babies to holidays and even includes keepsake or memory quilts.   This one magazine alone will keep you busy for a very long time.
Another interesting magazine that we’ve never carried before is Quiltmaker’s Quilting & Embroidery.  Embroidery is being incorporated with quilting more and more.  One of the projects is a redwork quilt done on the machine.  Can you imagine the time that will save?  There’s a cute purse pattern, a wonderful update on a traditional applique quilt, a crossword puzzle quilt, and more.  It’s hard to pick a favorite out of this magazine, but I’d have to give my vote to the Boo Crew quilt whose embroidery elements are candy corn fellows all dressed up for Halloween.  I’m not big on that holiday myself, but I love candy corn and these guys are some of the cutest I’ve seen in a long time. 

Don't Miss It!

McCall’s America Quilts for Christmas is one magazine you do not want to pass up.  It is loaded with great quilt patterns including a super sampler quilt that is calling my name.  In fact, one of our ladies who bought the magazine this past weekend thinks we need to do this as a BOM.  Hmmm…where do we fit that in I wonder… 

2 for the price of 1!

Someone, somewhere  is always having a baby, and making a quilt for a new baby is probably one of the most fun things we quilters get to do.  If a baby quilt is looming in your future you’ll want to drop in and pick up Fons & Porters baby Quilts magazine.  There are so many cute, and easy, quilts inside that you need extra time just to figure out which one you want to do.  Not only do you get 16 designs for either babies or toddlers, you get to learn how to make gathered borders and deal with directional diagonal seams.  But wait, there’s more!  You also get a disc with all the patterns from the 2009 issue.  Now that’s what I call getting the most bang for your buck!
As you can see we have enough inspiration around here to keep us busy from now ’till the cows come home.  If we were equally blessed with time and energy we could crank out more quilts than the world would know what to do with.  I’ve just about decided that the easiest way to figure out which project to do first is to write each one that I like on a slip of paper, fold it up and put it in a hat, draw one and begin from there.  Of course, you know what will happen don’t you.  There will be a different project that I like just a little better than the one I draw out so I’ll put that one back and draw again in hopes of getting one that I like even better.  Yes, I can see myself doing that…I really, really can.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Majidimehr
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 14:19:26

    Thank you for such a nice review of my book!!! I found your blog through my local quilt shop owner, Susan, of Gathering Fabric, when she forwarded the Martingale shop newsletter to me today.

    Reply

    • hookedonquilting
      Feb 01, 2011 @ 22:46:58

      Hello there,

      I’m glad you liked the review. Actually, it is I who should thank you for writing such a great book! I can’t even begin to imagine the amount of time it must take for such an endeavour. We’ve had several ladies oooh and ahhh over the quilts in your book. I’m hoping that some of them will step out of their box and actually make one. I’ll let you know if anyone ever does 🙂 .

      Take care,

      Cindy

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 91 other followers

