Christmas in July – Week 2

Can you believe that half the month of July is gone already!?  If I’m not careful, I’m going to wake up old one of these days.

Tomorrow is the end of week two of our Christmas in July celebration.  Competition for the Janome sewing machine is huge.  Some of our visitors say they need the machine for themself, others say they need it for a child or grandchild.  Still others plan on donating the machine to their church group if they are fortunate enough to win.  Wherever the new home is I am sure the machine will be happy and well loved.

Miss Martha has been busy this month putting together the Critter Christmas quilt and kits.  This is one of the cutest quilts we’ve done in a while.  Miss Martha even did most of the pieceing of the blocks on the machine.  The applique she did by hand but the backgrounds and borders for some of the sections she did herself.  I’m so proud of her!  I think Miss Kathy helped her a little as did I, but for the most part she has tackled her fear of my machine and has come out on top (no pun intended).

Cute, cute, cute!!!

The kits she has put together so far are already spoken for so she’s going to have to get busy and make more.  Extra books are on order and should be here next week.  Let me know if you want me to hold one for you.  Also, let me know if you want Miss Martha to put a kit together for you.  I know you have a wonderful stash from which to pull, but it will save you lots of time if all those little pieces are already chosen for you.  Think about it…Christmas is less than six months away now.

Harvest Collection

Today, Miss Martha finished a new tea towel that you can hang at Thanksgiving.  She did the turkey since our other turkey towel flew the coop several years ago and hasn’t found its way back to us.  I know we’re supposed to be focusing on Christmas this month, but since Thanksgiving is an even closer holiday, we thought it would be nice to get a jump on making new items for your Thanksgiving/Fall decorating.

Many of our quilters have gone to Knoxville, TN this week for the AQS show.  I can’t wait until they start bringing in their “finds” from the show as well as photos of the quilts.  I know I am going to regret not taking the time off to go, but between managing the shop and two teenagers, a mini vacation was not on the schedule for this month.

Knoxville happens to be one of my favorite cities.  Maybe it’s because I lived there for three years and really got to know my way around.  I lived through all the construction for the 1982 World’s Fair which was no small feat.  Then there were the University of Tennessee football games which made that time of my life very exciting.  No doubt both of those had something to do with my lasting impressions of Knoxville.  When we moved from Albuquerque in an effort to get closer to home, I really hoped that we would be able to live in Knoxville, but alas, that was not meant to be.  I have no regrets though.  Fayetteville is a great little town that I hope will stay small.  It really does have a lot going for it.  Maybe not if you are a teenager wanting to stretch your wings and see the world, but if you are an older and wiser person you find that Fayetteville has a quiet charm that can soothe frazzled nerves and calm your spirit. 

The difference between the two cities is obvious where size is concerened, but there is also a definite difference in the pace of ones life in this rural setting.  I have no regrets for having had to put down roots in this small town.  The folks are wonderful and those who visit the shop are the cream of the crop.  Yes, we’re happy here in our small town with our small quilt shop and our abundant blessings.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Denise :)
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 22:36:02

    *Love* the fall table runners and tea towels — fall stuff is right up my alley! I finished my first little redwork ‘Sawyer’ today. Yay!! Thank you again, so much; that was such a sweet and thoughtful gesture! *Hugs*! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 92 other followers

