Christmas in July – Week 1

Week one of our Christmas in July celebration will end tomorrow.  We’ve given out lots of free patterns and have several names already in the drawing for the Janome 2007LE machine.  There are just two more weeks left before we draw for the winner of the machine, and maybe even some more presents.  Be sure to drop in for a visit if you live close by and take advantage of our sale.

It’s been difficult for me to wrap my brain around the fact that half the year is over already.  Where has the time gone!?  Christmas will be here before we know it.  In fact, I think there are only about 176 days left to go.  We quilters enjoy giving gifts from our hearts made by our hands.  To do this we have to start early in the year or we’ll find ourselves scrambling at the last minute to get our projects finished, or worse yet, going out and buying something storebought just so we’ll have a gift to give a special someone.  Don’t let Christmas or any other gift giving occasion sneak up on you.  As one wise person said, “Plan your work, and work your plan.”  That way you will be ready ahead of time and can enjoy the holiday season without the usual stress that tends to be associated with it.

Whatever you do don’t be like me.  During the holidays, or shortly thereafter, I get all gung-ho about finding patterns and starting gifts for the next season.  Before long, I find myself halfway through the year with nothing to show for the time that has gone by.  So  Christmas in July serves as a wake up call for myself and, hopefully, many of our visitors.  That’s why we bring in our new choices of fabric designed with a Christmas or winter theme as well as kits, books, and patterns to ignite your imagination, get your creative juices flowing, and help you to achieve your goal for gift giving this year. 

Even with all the advanced planning I am not sure that I will make it this year.  That’s not pessimism.  Oh, no.  It’s realism.  You see, I know myself very well, and I tend to bite off more than I can chew only to find myself drowning in too many to-dos and too little time in which to do them.

While it helps to know yourself well, you will only benefit from that knowledge if you use it to your advantage.  By that I mean that since I know I am prone to start projects that never get finished I have to make a special effort and force myself to finish what I begin, or I just start another project and history repeats itself over and over again.  It has been a battle and unfortunately I cannot claim victory just yet, but I am getting better.  Those who visit the shop might not believe this, but had they known me 20 years ago they would definitely be impressed by how far I have come over the years.  But, much work on myself has yet to be done.  Yes, I am a work in progress myself, just like all of my UFOs.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Denise :)
    Jul 10, 2010 @ 14:02:19

    LOL! I *so* understand the battle of the UFOs! It’s my favorite hobby! 🙂 Unfortunately, I’ll not be able to make it out to HOQ until sometime in August, but make it there I will! I hope to be able to make it to the guild meeting Thursday; perhaps I’ll see you there? Hugs! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Liz Angus
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 21:03:05

    Hi,
    I enjoyed reading your new blog! I have a new blog too and I absolutely love it. Next I have to learn to do a website but for now I am learning how to do a blog, trying to figure out how to get those pictures in the middle of the text – you did really good! Your shop sounds lovely!
    Liz

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 91 other followers

